Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra 

The Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra is an important part of the rich and varied cultural heritage of the city of Dubrovnik and the Republic of Croatia. The Orchestra in the City of Dubrovnik has been in operation continuously since 1924, initially as a semi-professional organization, and subsequently as a fully professional orchestra. During the ensuing years, the Orchestra's membership has steadily increased, and the Orchestra's technical sophistication allowed the ensemble to perform more sophisticated and demanding musical works, often under famous conductors including Tadeusz Sygietynski, Josef Vlach Vruticky, and Ludomir Michael Rogowski.

In 1946 the members of the Orchestra, aware of a pressing need to offer a more competitive product to an increasing and diverse tourist market, formed another musical body called the Dubrovnik City Orchestra which was the city's first fully professional orchestra, performing mostly for the Dubrovnik Summer Festival, formed in the 1950's. For a short time during the 1980s, the Orchestra was called the Dubrovnik Festival Orchestra. In 1992 the Orchestra renamed itself for the last time as the Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra. Its members are musicians with academic education, mostly from the Zagreb Academy of Music. Its list of concerts is very long, including tours all over Europe and in the USA. The Orchestra performs a repertoire consisting of pieces by baroque, classical and romantic composers in concert venues such as the Rector's palace, churches and the city squares. The Orchestra has performed many times in Croatia and in the most prestigious halls of Europe, USA and Indonesia with renowned soloists and conductors.

The Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra was awarded the «Milka Trnina» prize, which is the most prestigious musical branch award in Croatia.

Lovro von Matačić, Antonio Janigro, Zubin Mehta, Kiril Kondrashin, Ernst Marzendorfer, Milan Horvat, Pavle Dešpalj, Anton Nanut, David Ojstrah, Lord Yehudi Menuhin, Mstislav Rostropovich, Svjatoslav Richter, Henryk Szeryng, Uto Ughi, Christoph Eschenbach, Stefan Milenkovich, Ivo Pogorelić, Ivan Pochekin, Nada Matošević, Michael Kissinger, Dubravka Tomšič, Dunja Vejzović, Ruža Pospiš Baldani, Monika Leskovar, Vladimir Krpan, Mischa Maisky, Yuri Bashmet, Julian Rachlin, Michel Legrand, Alun Francis, Nicholas Milton, Christoph Campestrini, Noorman Widjaja, Maksim Fedotov, Francesco La Vecchia… are some of the most prestigious local and foreign conductors and soloists with whom the Orchestra appeared particularly during the Dubrovnik Summer Festival. 

Address: Svetoga Dominika 9 (Fort Revelin), 20 000 DUBROVNIK, CROATIA
Phone: 00 385 (0) 20 417 110
Fax: 00 385 (0) 20 417 060
Sales: 00 385 (0) 99 2211 585
Email: sales@dso.hr
Web: www.dso.hr
Facebook fan page: Dubrovački-simfonijski-orkestar-Dubrovnik-Symphony-Orchestra